What is the most rewarding part of running an association?

The July issue of Associations Now has, in the CEO-to-CEO section, a questioned that I enjoyed answering. What is the most rewarding part of your job?

As I have said before, I enjoy reading the other CEO’s views, and reflecting on my own answers. All of the comments were great. The CEO’s in the article mentioned the the joys of solving problems, mentoring young employees, exceeding expectations, seeing the pride in an employee, member or volunteer when they exceed expectations.

For me it is the personal relationships that have developed. I genuinely like the members of USSA and ACCA-Oklahoma, and enjoy spending time with them. And while solving problems, mentoring friends, celebrating a successful legislative session, are enjoyable, those things pale for me in comparison to the pleasure I get from the relationships I have developed in this profession.

It was brought home for me this week. I spent Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday at the Oklahoma Society of Association Executives Annual Conference, where I got to enjoy the company of my peers, as well as the talented strategic partners that do so much to help us succeed. I followed that by attending the Oklahoma State Superintendents Annual Leadership Conference today (Thursday), where I got to visit with education leaders from across Oklahoma. Both activities were quality time with great friends.

So tell me, what is the most rewarding part of your job?

Leave a comment